228E tip cleaner

Post your tech questions here, lots of knowledge available.
BjornBee

228E tip cleaner

Post by BjornBee »

The tip cleaner assembly on a 228E is frozen.
I removed it to make sure it was not somehow jammed in the block mechanism.
I've tried to research the problem in the archives, but over 8400 replies come up with tip cleaner problems
Many talk about removing the packing, the damage that occurs in doing so, etc.

So my questions are simple...
1) Are all tip cleaners built with graphite?
And beyond removing the packing, what else can be done to hopefully free it?
Heat. soaking, other? Anything PRIOR to tearing out packing of which I have no experience.
Thank you
Last edited by BjornBee on Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Tgarner01
Super Colemanaholic

Re: 238E tip cleaner

Post by Tgarner01 »

I'm assuming you're talking about a 228E? If so I use heat... Sometimes it takes a good amount, also loosening the packing nut can help. Check for leaks before you light it up again.
Toby Garner, from SW Missouri
ICCC #1939
BjornBee

Post by BjornBee »

Tgarner01 wrote: Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:15 pm I'm assuming you're talking about a 228E? If so I use heat... Sometimes it takes a good amount, also loosening the packing nut can help. Check for leaks before you light it up again.
Yes....228E. Too early this morning......
If you loosen the packing nut, and use heat, is there any "leakage" possible?

Thank you.
Tgarner01
Super Colemanaholic

Post by Tgarner01 »

BjornBee wrote: Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:48 pm
Tgarner01 wrote: Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:15 pm I'm assuming you're talking about a 228E? If so I use heat... Sometimes it takes a good amount, also loosening the packing nut can help. Check for leaks before you light it up again.
Yes....228E. Too early this morning......
If you loosen the packing nut, and use heat, is there any "leakage" possible?

Thank you.