Why a pressure gauge?

Post your tech questions here, lots of knowledge available.
keith_b

Why a pressure gauge?

Post by keith_b »

So while I have owned a few Coleman lanterns and stoves over the years, I am new to collecting them. One thing I've come across that I am curious about is a filler cap gauge. Why a pressure gauge? I figure you give it a few pumps, light it, and as the flame or light dims you give it a few more pumps. Is there a real need?
Rfieldbuilds
Serious Colemanaholic

Re: Why a pressure gauge?

Post by Rfieldbuilds »

No. Novelty item unless a big stove or HGP where you are using it for long periods of time.
Randy
QL #15, Slant Saver #59, #0269 Turd Hurdler, #0269 Mil Spec Syndicate, Coleman Blues 243 #0269, BernzOmatic Appreciation Club #072, Sears Traveler 2.0 Host #1, and a few others too.
keith_b

Post by keith_b »

That's what I figured. Just a little lantern bling.
JimL
Super Colemanaholic

Post by JimL »

Maybe a novelty for a Coleman, but I wouldn't call these a novelty on a Petromax style lantern. The pumps on those are extremely inefficient and need a lot of pumps to fire up if you want it running right. If you get one equipped with a preheater torch, you'll be amazed how fast those draw down the air pressure and you probably won't be able to pump fast enough to compensate for the pressure drawdown.
-Jim

Sheep that produce steel wool have no natural enemies.

Flammable liquids, open flame, what could go wrong?
RR_RES
Colemanaholic

Post by RR_RES »

I think in some cases, you might need it. Some like to use a compressor, for whatever reason, to pressurize their lanterns, so having a pressure gauge helps determine when to stop pumping air.

To repair dented tanks and push out dents by using a compressor, you'd want to keep track of tank pressure

I guess this is more a general answer about pressure gauges and not necessarily on lanterns...